New Sick and Safe Time Law
Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota’s earned sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state. This means that as a business owner, you need to start preparing now to ensure that you comply with the new law. Sick and safe time is paid leave that employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member, or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse.
An employee is eligible for sick and safe time if they work at least 80 hours in a year for an employer in MN; and are not an independent contractor. Temporary and part-time employees are eligible for sick and safe time. An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount. Sick and safe time must be paid at the same hourly rate an employee earns when they are working.
To help get started, the DLI is providing resources on their website (we included links in our e-newsletter in early October). If you have specific questions, reach out to the Labor Standards Division of DLI at 651-284-5075 or firstname.lastname@example.org. As always, please let us know if we can help in any way.
Pay History Ban
Effective January 1, 2024, employers can no longer ask a candidate’s current or past pay history during the hiring process, with the intent to close the gender and racial pay gap. This law applies to employers of all sizes and types. Going forward, employers must rely on an applicant’s skills, education, certification, licenses, and other qualifications, as well as the job market, to set pay. Be sure your applicant materials are updated to make sure they do not ask for pay information.